Tags

For years friends and family have been telling me that I need to open a bakery of my own.  Baking is obviously a passion of mine and while I’ve toyed with the idea of starting a business, time spent with my family has always been a bigger priority.  The two years that K has been here, I’ve made his birthday cakes and they have really turned out well.  I’ll share those in another post!

I’ve eaten a lot of cakes in my time and I’ve found that if they look good, the taste is  mediocre and if they taste good, the presentation tends to be little dull.  I’ve always felt that there’s no reason people can’t have both.  So I’ve finally caved and I am going to start making kids birthday cakes. I want the business to grow organically, by word of mouth and see where it takes me.  I am still brainstorming possible names and have yet to print business cards, although I’ve had my first customer!

One of K’s good friends recently celebrated his 2nd birthday and he loves Yo Gabba Gabba! So I created these cupcakes for his celebration.  His mother wanted vanilla cupcakes with vanilla frosting.  I made the toppers by piping chocolate transfers. A very time consuming endeavor but well worth the effort! Here are some closeups of the characters.

Muno

Foofa

Plex

Brobee

Toodee

The kids loved the cupcakes, evident by the bright colors of frosting dotting their faces!

