Tags

, ,

I think it’s hardly a coincidence that my first post falls during National Chocolate Chip Cookie week.  It’s really a symbol of American home life.  Even if your mother never made you a chocolate chip cookie you can’t help but feel full of homey comfort as soon as you’ve taken a bite.  I’ve yet to meet someone who doesn’t like a chocolate chip cookie.  My husband, who has absolutely NO sweet tooth, can often be found in the corners of our kitchen shoving them down at a disturbing pace.

The chocolate chip cookie is such a subjective study.  Some people like a flat, crispy cookie.  Others a soft, fluffy cookie.  Nuts.  No Nuts.   Personally, I’m partial to large doughy or cake like cookies with no nuts.  Can I say “chocolate chip” just one more time?  These days I’m usually making an eggless chocolate chip cookie due to my sons’ egg allergy.  I tweak a lot of vegan recipes.  This is a good one, although it doesn’t meet my personal likings (doughy).   It’s quite tasty, rises well and browns nicely on the bottom.  It keeps my little guy happy too! It’s adapted from this book.

OH, and by the way, today is also Healing From the Inside Out Day.  I can’t think of a better way than the chocolate chip cookie.

Eggless Chocolate Chip Cookies

1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1 cup salted butter
1/4 cup milk
1 T. tapioca flour
2 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°F.  In a large bowl whisk the flour, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.  In a separate bowl, cream  both sugars and butter together until fluffy, about 2 minutes. Using a food processor or blender ( I use an immersion blender since it’s easy clean up), combine the milk and tapioca flour.  Blend until the mixture starts to thicken and becomes foamy. Add to butter and sugar mixture along with the vanilla.  Mix until well combined, scraping the bowl as needed.  Add the flour mixture and beat on low until well incorporated.  Stir in chocolate chips.   Drop by rounded tablespoons onto baking sheet lined with a silpat or parchment paper. Bake for 10-13 minutes.  Makes 20.  Enjoy!

<!–

