Tags

,

I’m very into all things vintage so I was beyond excited to get this book in the mail from my mother.

It’s chock full of sound advice like this…”Planning, preparing and serving meals is an art which develops through inspiration and thought.  And meal planning is really fun!  It may look difficult to the beginner, but like driving a car, swimming, or anything we learn to do without thought or conscious effort, it is a skill which grows easier with doing.”

I really like this advice, complete with illustration.

As much as the life of a 50’s housewife seems laughable to me, the reality is that my life mirrors it greatly.  Ok, so instead of wearing pearls when my husband arrives home from work, I might be wearing sweats and have my hair in a ponytail. (I am truly grateful to feminism for earning me that one). I spend the majority of my time meal planning, cooking, child rearing and cleaning.  Let’s face it, we women are the glue that holds a family and home together.  Without us there likely would not be well balanced meals at the dinner table, waiting to fill eager bellies.  Clean pajamas. Packed lunches. Warm breakfasts.

This particular warm breakfast reminds me of my own mother.  I have childhood memories of waking on certain Saturday mornings to the smell of cinnamon and sugar and I just knew that she had made a coffee cake.  This coffee cake is inspired by the aforementioned book and touts itself as prize winning.  I have used an egg replacer, but for those of you that aren’t allergic or averse, just use one egg in it’s place. And I hope your kitchen smells like home.

Prize Coffee Cake

3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter
1 T. Bob’s Red Mill Egg Replacer + 3 T. water
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup milk
1 1/2 cups flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 cup brown sugar
2 T. flour
3 tsp. cinnamon
3 T. butter, melted

Preheat your oven to 375º. Butter and flour a 9″ square pan. If you don’t have one (like me) you can use something that seems equivalent. In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt.  Whisk together with a fork.  In a separate bowl, cream butter and sugar until fluffy.  Using a small bowl whisk the egg replacer and water until there are no lumps and it’s well blended.  Add to butter mixture along with vanilla. Blend well.  Finally, add in the flour mixture and mix until well incorporated. Pour into prepared pan.  I actually had to use floured fingers and lightly press the batter into the dish.

Combine the brown sugar, flour, cinnamon and melted butter and sprinkle over cake batter. Bake for 25-35 mins or until toothpick comes out clean.

