Tags

, ,

Do you ever just have one of those days?  Days where nothing goes right, where you burn things that aren’t supposed to be burnt?  Where you don’t cook a custard long enough for it to set?  Then the custard flows out of the bottom of the tart pan and onto every shelf in your refrigerator?  Hmmm…No?  Well, yesterday was certainly one of those days for me.

I was hoping to post today about about a meticulously beautiful strawberry tart.  This is what it looks like…

So I guess the word is out.  Not everything I bake is successful.    I’m a failure at custard.  However, I do know how to bake a delicious muffin, and an eggless semi healthy one at that.  That brings redemption to my wounded heart.  Sort of.

This is another adapted recipe from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook. You can use any fruit and I actually prefer to use frozen raspberries.  When the fruit is fresh, it tends to get a little soggy in the muffin while baking.  I had a surplus of strawberries so I that’s what I used for these muffins.  Note: I never have buttermilk so I just mix it with a little vinegar and let it sit for at least 5 minutes.  If you’d rather skip the egg replacer+water,  just add 2 eggs in it’s place.  And the flax seed meal can be replaced with flour.

Strawberry Muffins

1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 cup of sugar
2 T. Bob’s Red Mill egg replacer
6 T. water
2 tsp. vanilla
1 3/4 cups flour
1/4 cup flax seed meal
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 1/2 cups strawberries, cut into small pieces

Preheat the oven to 375°. Butter and flour a 12 cup muffin tin. If you are using strawberries and they aren’t very sweet, throw them into a bowl with a Tablespoon of sugar to macerate. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, flax seed meal, baking powder and salt. Whisk with a fork. In a separate bowl, cream butter and sugar and mix until fluffy. Mix together the egg replacer and water with a fork until there are no lumps. Add to the butter mixture and combine. Add in vanilla and stir. Dump in the flour mixture and mix until just combined. Do the same with the buttermilk. Toss your fruit with a little flour until lightly coated. This is so they don’t sink to the bottom of your muffin. Then fold the berries into the batter. sprinkle the tops of the muffins with a little sugar.  Bake for 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Oh, and I will tackle that pastry cream again and I’m sure you’ll be hearing about it.

