Tags


To most people who know me, it’s no secret that I love my chocolate.  I mean real quality chocolate.  Not the I’m lagging in the afternoon and need a quick jolt Hershey bar kind of chocolate.  No I’m talking about the pay an arm and a leg divine experience chocolate.

When I lived in the city, I was definitely on a mission to try as much quality chocolate as possible.  As I’ve mentioned before, my husband is lacking in his appreciation of sugary substances, but he’s spent his fair share of weekends huddled in the corner of various sweet shops.  He would do his best to hide the sense of shock and alarm at chocolate that costs $40/lb.  He just doesn’t get it.  But I know some of you do.  It’s that crunch as you bite into it, melt in your mouth and fill you with heaven feeling that I just can’t shake.  You must be asking if I have an addiction to the stuff.  I’m not ashamed to admit it.  Hi, my name is Andrea and I’m a chocoholic.

After my tumultuous Tuesday I found myself in need of a little something.  Unfortunately, when you live in the suburbs and it’s 9PM there’s little offerings in variety of this fine substance.  So I rooted around my cabinet and at least found some Ghiradelli to mix up some chocolate sauce.  This is so very simple to make and it’s waaay better than store-bought hot fudge.

Chocolate Sauce

1/4 rounded cup sugar
3 T. heavy cream
7 T. milk
4 oz. bittersweet chocolate
1/4 tsp. vanilla

In a small saucepan, combine the sugar, cream and milk.  Heat on med-low and stir until the sugar is dissolved. Turn heat to low and add chocolate and vanilla. Stir until chocolate is melted and the mixture is warm and gooey. You may have to turn the heat up slightly to get that pourable consistency, but be careful not to burn the chocolate. Store any leftovers in the refrigerator and just heat in the microwave until warm again.

