Tags

You may have not have noticed this, but we do a lot of baking around here.  My little guy is always helping and his clothes have the stains to prove it.  I have been on the hunt for a toddler apron for quite some time, but aside from ordering one online, I’ve had little luck.  So I decided to make my own.   It’s a super easy project that’s very appropriate for beginners.  It took me less than an hour to make this and most of that time was spent fetching K some snacks!   I’ll walk you through the process, but please excuse the poor pictures.  They were taken in the attic which has the epitome of death lighting.

Toddler Apron

Supplies:
1/2 yard patterned fabric
1/2 yard complimenting fabric
16″ grosgrain ribbon
thread

I measured K myself for this apron so it should fit the average toddler.  Place the two fabrics facing right sides together like this.

Then make your measurements and mark with a fabric pencil/marker. (Shhh…I actually used a regular pencil because I couldn’t find mine)
The measurements are as follows…
16 inches length
13 inches across hip
9 inches across chest (TOP)
slant in fabric measures 7 inches from top.

Cut out fabric and fold over to make sure the edges match up.

Using the remaining fabric, cut out two strips measuring 17″ by 2.5″.  Fold in half right side together and pin along the side.

Sew together, tapering at the bottom edge.

Use a chopstick or the wrong side of a pen to turn the straps right side out.  Iron straps with seam in the center.

Pin to the inside of the apron with the seams facing down towards the solid fabric.

Cut the ribbon for the neck strap and pin in the same manner.  Lay the fabric flat with the straps tucked inside and the right sides of fabric together.  Pin the fabric together.  This is what it should look like, although I pinned my neck strap before tucking it in.  Do what I say, not what I do!

Sew together using a half inch seam allowance, leaving a 5 inch gap in the bottom for turning.

Turn out and topstitch around edges.  Voila!

Here’s a photo of my little guy cooking his monkey or, uh something like that…