Tags

, ,

I seems like forever since my last post, but I haven’t been baking much these days.  I’m avoiding water.  Well, washing my hands unnecessarily.  For some reason, I’ve had an outbreak of severe eczema on my hands.  Since I can remember I’ve been the type that’s obsessive about moisturizing my skin.  Needless to say,  I had never experienced dry skin at all.  But since I had little K I’ve been battling eczema big time.  First it started on my legs and after a few months it was my arms and now my hands.  And as a mom of a toddler it’s pretty much impossible to avoid washing my hands.  So I’m given no choice but to suffer the constant pain.  I’ve seen 3 different dermatologists, tried a bevy of lotions and creams and have now resorted to the grocery aisle to find a solution.

I’ve found it in Organic Coconut Oil.  I was looking on the internet for some natural remedies to try, and I read about the healing properties of this oil.  I promptly bought a $20 jar and have been oiling up my hands any chance I get.  Oh, it’s done such wonders.  I’m not cured yet, but I can at least wash my hands without wanting to shout expletives.

I’ve also been thinking that it might do some good to heal from the inside out with lots of Omega 3’s.  That’s when this cookie was born. It’s got oatmeal, flax seed and whole wheat flour so that should do a body some good.  And let’s not forget about the antioxidants in those dark chocolate candies! Enjoy.

Oatmeal Chocolate Candy Cookies

1 cup butter, room temperature
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups oatmeal
1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
1/4 cup flax seed meal
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup chocolate candies ( I used dark chocolate)

Preheat the oven to 350°F. In a large bowl, whisk together the oatmeal, flour, flax seed meal, baking soda and salt. Set aside. In a separate bowl, cream the butter and sugars until fluffy. Mix in the egg and vanilla until well incorporated, scraping the bowl as needed. Add flour mixture and combine well. Stir in the chocolate candies. Using a rounded Tablespoon worth of dough for each cookie, roll into a ball and place on a silpat or parchment lined cookie sheet. Flatten with your hand or the back of a spoon. Bake for 13-15 minutes.

