Tags

, ,

K and I are big on arts and craft projects.  He takes creating very seriously, whether that  be in baking or in crafts.  It’s so much fun for me to watch him be so focused and calm since he’s normally a giant ball of energy.  When he was sick last week and we were looking longingly outside at the sunshine, I had a great idea for a craft. I thought it would be a kind of unconscious motivation for his body to heal more quickly if we made something that could be used outdoors.

In all my years of being a nanny, I oddly had never made sidewalk chalk with kiddos.  So I figured this was as good of a time as any.  I had remembered seeing a great tutorial on making sidewalk chalk eggs.  It’s from Skip to My Lou and you can find it here.  Her sight is a great resource for projects with the kids.

I used whatever kids paint we had on hand and it worked fine.  Our eggs didn’t look as seamless as I had hoped they would, but I think they would have if my plaster mixture had been slightly more watery. K didn’t seem to notice and he had tons of fun marking up the driveway! These would be a great addition to an Easter basket for all you crafty moms out there!

