I know I dropped off the grid lately, but it seems like there’s always too much to do and this little blog has to take a back seat!  Don’t worry, I am so going to make it up to you with the recipe in this post. One of my favorite breakfast pastries is scones.  I only first attempted to make them myself last year.  When I did, it was like a revelation.

If you’ve ever picked up a scone from a certain coffee shop you know that they tend to be pretty dry and it tastes like there’s a bit too much baking soda.  When I make them, I like to make sure there’s enough liquid in the recipe so that the scone is a cross between a soft cookie and a biscuit.  Normally I make chocolate chip or berry scones, but I had a hankering for something loaded with chocolate and made these goodies.  You will not be sorry if you make these.  Just make sure that you have some friends to share with because these are pretty decadent.   The recipe is adapted from Chocolate Chocolate by Lisa Yockelson.   Great book for all you chocoholics out there!

Chocolate Scones
yields 6

2 cups all purpose flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
2 1/3 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup plus 1 T. sugar
6 T. cold butter, cut into chunks
2 eggs
3 tsp. vanilla extract
1/3 cup plus 1.5 T. heavy cream
1/2 cup milk chocolate chips
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a silpat. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Drop in the chunks of butter and using a pastry blender cut the butter until it’s a fine crumb. I use my kitchenaid with the whisk attachment to start and then detach the whisk and use it by hand to cut the butter more finely. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs, vanilla and cream. Pour over the flour/butter mixture along with the chocolate chips and stir until just combined. Do not over work, you don’t want to mix it too much to ruin those beautiful chunks of butter. Dump onto a well floured surface and form into a flat circle. Cut into 6 equal portions. This is what mine looks like cut and ready to be put into the oven.

Place scones 3 inches apart on the prepared cookie sheet and bake for 16-18 minutes. These really are best devoured warm and gooey!

