Tags

, ,

We are definitely a family of fruit lovers here, especially my little monster.  He’s been known to eat through a box of fruit snacks in a few days flat.  I try to buy the fruit leather, which is  much healthier, but it can get pricey keeping up with his habit.  So I thought I give the homemade kind a try.  It’s beyond simple and about as healthy of a snack as it gets.

Measure about three cups of fruit and a half a cup of water into a small saucepan.  I used frozen fruit I had taking up space in the freezer and it was perfect.  Cook on medium until most of the liquid is evaporated and the fruit is mushy.

Use a blender or a food processor to blend the fruit until it’s mostly smooth.  I use an immersion blender because it’s much easier to clean.  If you are using fruit with seeds, you may want to strain the fruit through a fine sieve to remove seeds.  Spread out evenly onto a cookie sheet lined with wax paper or a silpat. This is only two cups worth of fruit, three cups will make it thicker and much easier for little ones to eat.

Place in a 170°F oven.  Bake for 1-3 hours. If you have a convection oven the dehydrating process will be faster. I used convection and mine took about 90 minutes.  Cool slightly then peel from baking sheet.

I cut mine into strips and rolled them between wax paper.  Delicious, healthy and K thought it was very neat to make our own fruit snacks!

