Tags

, , , , ,

I’d like to confess that I’m a bit addicted to pinterest.  I will just assume that some of you may be as well, partly because it makes me feel as though I’m in good company.  It actually is a blessing, this thing called pinterest.  It allows this mom brain of mine to flex it’s muscles and remember that I am a woman of many interests.  I spend my time dabbling in photography, art, and beauty (hah, as if I have time for beauty) categories.  I’m not going to lie though, most of my pins are kitchen related.  One huge problem; so many tempting recipes containing dairy, dairy dairy!! Which my youngest is still not allowed to have due to food allergies.  Luckily, I am ambitious and I do my best to make adaptations for dairy, egg and nut free.

OH I’m sure you have seen a version of these babies making their rounds.  I was on a comfort food mission today to make these.  The cookies didn’t quite achieve the brownie like texture I was looking for but that’s difficult to achieve without using eggs.  It’s still very full of chocolate and not too sweet.  Counter that with the vanilla bean laden chocolate chip cookie dough and it’s pure heaven in your mouth. Just a note: the filling recipe makes about double what you’ll need.  I usually just freeze it and save it for other recipes or eating by the spoonful.

Vegan Brownie Cookie Dough Sandwiches

Cookie:

1 c. Earth’s Balance, or margarine
3/4 c. sugar
3/4 c. brown sugar
2 Tbs. flax seed meal
6 Tbs. warm water
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
1/2 c. dairy free chocolate, melted
1 3/4 c. flour
3/4 c. dutch process cocoa
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp.baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt

Preheat oven to 350ºF. In a medium bowl combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat the earth’s balance and sugars until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. While they are beating, whisk together the flax seed meal and warm water. Add to the margarine sugar mixture along with the vanilla until just combined. Sift in the flour mixture and beat on low until all the flour is incorporated. Roll 1 TBS. of dough into a ball and place on a parchment lined cookie sheet. Flatten the balls with the bottom of a lightly floured glass or measuring cup. Bake for 8 minutes and cool completely.

Cookie Dough Filling

1 c. earth’s balance
3/4 c. sugar
3/4 c. brown sugar
2 tsp. vanilla bean paste, or vanilla extract
1/3 c. soy milk
1 3/4 c. flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt

In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat the earth’s balance and sugars until light and fluffy. Add the vanilla and soy milk and beat for 2 minutes. Add in flour, baking soda and salt and mix until well combined. Sandwich between two cookies and enjoy!

